etcpopla.blogg.se

Drive ahead computer
Drive ahead computer











Both of these can be changed when files are moved, copied, or edited, and when they are changed, the date and time used is sourced from the target device. The two other commonly visible dates are Date Created and Date Modified. That should be set by the camera, and will (should) not be changed by any later file moves, copies, edits, etc., unless it is deliberately changed by the user. The important one for photos in the Date Taken. If you want to force it to run a time update, brush up your Linux skills and SSH into the MPW, and run the appropriate commands. It may happen almost immediately after the MPW detects an internet connection. So I suggest that you start up the MPW, connect it to a network (not via USB, via Wi-Fi) that has access to the internet, and leave it running for a day or so, or until the time is updated. Usually a server will run the check once a day or similar. So, have you ever had the MPW connected to the internet for any length of time? It can take some time for a server to check and set its time. I’m not sure how the MPW gets the time zone to use, but again, it could use internet location information to set the location, and hence the time zone. In fact I was able to determine that my MPW is 15 seconds slow compared to my desktop PC, which shows me that it is maintaining its own time, and probably from internet time servers, as they usually provide a time a few seconds out. As there does not seem to be any way to actually set the time, and my MPW has the correct local time, I have to assume that this is the case. As such, it seems to me that it will get the correct time from the internet, using a time server. Go and check the Date and Time on your MPW now. In fact in the latest firmware (v1.03.13) the current time has moved to the Home tab, bottom right corner.

#Drive ahead computer manual#

The manual directs you to the Hardware tab of the MPW Dashboard to view the current time the MPW is using. On the specific issue of viewing and setting the time on the MPW: Is there a solution for this? I can find no way of setting the date or time on the device itself. The file system ‘Date Modified’ and the date in the image EXIF info is correct. I’m having the same issue as well, files transferred to the MPW from an SD card are having their ‘Date Created’ set to some time in January 2014, presumably when I set up the drive it decided it was and has been counting on the days from there. Looking forward to a possible explanation… and fix if possible. This seems to be an issue only when viewing via Wi-Fi. If I view the files via Wi-Fi (on either the phone or the same laptop) the times are out (they happen to be 11hours ahead of actual time). I have just taken the time to re-confirm that if I view the files by a direct connection (cable to laptop) the times are correct.

drive ahead computer

I have double checked that the camera, phone and laptop are all set to the correct local time, numerous times. If I place that same SD card directly into the built-in card reader on the laptop, the file times and dates are as I would expect, the actual time and date each photo was taken.Īlso, if I connect the MPW directly to the laptop via the USB3 cable, the times are also correct. I view those transferred photos from the SD Card Imports folder on the MPW via the WD My Cloud app on a Samsung S5 via the MPW Wi-Fi and also via a laptop running Windows7, also via the MPW Wi-Fi.īoth of these methods show the same incorrect time / date. Photos are transferred across to the unit exactly as expected. The MPW is used as a stand-alone unit, simulating transferring photos as if I was away from civilisation (the intented use of the product). I place the SD card directly into the card reader on the MPW.

drive ahead computer drive ahead computer

Thanks ArMak for taking the time to respond.











Drive ahead computer